Kundalini yoga, taking you to the path of spirituality

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini yoga is known as the yoga of mindfulness. Kundalini is described as the latent spiritual power that is curled up like a snake, and it lies at the bottom of the spine. In simple words, it is the strength of the awareness. It is said that Kundalini yoga will wake up the Kundalini power that is asleep.

The eternal spiritual energy is stored in the kundalini. Rousing the energy is necessary, as it plays a key role in self–fulfillment. Arousal of energy is achieved through mantra (specific chants), sound, meditation and exercises to release trauma from the inner energetic core that surrounds our physical entity. After the energy wakes up it travels through the spinal cord (Sushumna) to unite with the top most part of the head which is known as the Sahasrara. This is often mentioned as the state of spirituality.

Evidence-based study finds Kundalini Yoga to be beneficial in anxiety disorder

Woman suffering from anxiety disorder

A recent 2020 clinical trial from Harvard Medical School and Boston University published in JAMA shows Kundalini yoga regime could significantly reduce anxiety disorder. The study compared with the 12-week program of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) and Kundalini Yoga in people with generalized anxiety disorder (GAD). Though CBT was more effective in addressing anxiety disorder, Kundalini Yoga also produced significant benefits. For people unable to afford CBT, this yoga program could be a valuable weapon.

Basic requirements

A person who aspires to benefit from the spiritual power of kundalini must undergo a self analysis. This analysis will assist to find out whether the mind of the person is fixated. It is also important that the person should have the characteristics of a sattva.

The aspirant must be determined and should be well disciplined which is the basic necessity for this yoga. Exercising regularly is very essential. The person must include healthy foods in his diet and must ensure that he gets sound sleep.


arousing of kundalini

The arousing of kundalini takes place in six stages. In the first stage prana normally travels through the Ida and pingala. In the second stage prana is forced to travel through the Ida and pingala. In the third stage prana travels through the spinal cord or the Sushumna. At the fourth stage kundalini is aroused. In the fifth stage kundalini travels to the upper side. In the sixth stage it travels to the Sahasrara.

Nadis and the chakras

Kundalini yoga helps a person to discover the source of the prana. It also guides a person in using it. Prana which is also known as the current of life is passed to each and every part of the human body through the nadis. Though there are thousands of nadis in the body the 3 most important nadis are the Sushumna, Ida and the Pingala nadi.

Chakras are the points on the spinal cord where the nadis gather. The kundalini travels through the seven chakras which are Sahasrara, Ajna, Vishudha, Anahata, Manipura, Swadhisthana and Muladhra. The person practicing the yoga will achieve the spiritual state as kundalini moves upwards. Prana also travels through the spinal cord without any hindrance but sometimes it is obstructed by the impure particles.

Pranayama to wake up kundalini

Pranayama to wake up kundalini

  • The mind should be focused on muladhara.
  • Close the right nostril and start inhaling through the left till 3 counts.
  • Hold your breath till 12 counts while keeping the left nostril closed.
  • The current must be imagined and should be sent to rouse kundalini.
  • Gradually exhale with the right nostril till six counts.


  • Unblocks the energy flow
  • Calms your mind
  • Builds confidence
  • Builds strength and resilience
  • Helps you to connect with spirituality
  • Balances emotional energy and mental peace

Recent Articles:

Scroll to Top