Classification ::

  1. Type-1 Diabetes mellitus
  2. Type-2 Diabetes mellitus
  3. Gestational diabetes mellitus 
  4. other specific types

  1. Type-1 Diabetes mellitus: It is also called as insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus (IDDM) or juvenile onset diabetes. This occurs when the pancreatic beta cells (the cells that produce insulin) are damaged leading to improper insulin secretion. Mostly children and young adults are affected, although disease onset can affect at any age.

  2. Type 2 diabetes mellitus: It is also called as non-insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus (NIDDM) or adult-onset diabetes. This disorder is caused due to insulin resistance, where the cells do not use insulin properly leading to insufficient glucose metabolism. If the need of insulin rises in the body, the pancreas gradually loses its ability to produce insulin. This type is associated with elderly, obesity, family history of diabetes, history of gestational diabetes, impaired glucose metabolism, physical inactivity, and race/ethnicity.

  3. Gestational diabetes: It is a form of glucose intolerance observed during pregnancy commonly occurring among obese women and women with a family history of diabetes.


Related Articles

Back to top button