Casein free diet

Casein and gluten are a type of protein found in several foods. Casein is present in milk, yogurt, cheese and ice cream whereas gluten can be found in wheat, rye and barley. Both the proteins do same job by breaking down in the intestinal tract. They become peptides and further breakdown in the form of amino acids.

Casein Free Diet

A diet free of casein and gluten means eliminating foods like milk, cheese, barley and wheat. All these foods must be replaced by the below mentioned foods:

  • Buckwheat
  • Rice milk
  • Soy milk
  • Coconut milk
  • Rice
  • Sago
  • Soya
  • Tapioca
  • Rice flour
  • Rice bran
  • Potato flour

Recent study has proved that Casein Free Diet can help a patient recover from irritable bowel syndrome, autism and other illnesses.

Being ordered to avoid casein seems unrealistic. Casein is present in so many foods that it is not possible to avoid it completely. Most of the dairy foods contain large amount of casein such as wheat. You need to stay motivated and sacrifice your food cravings in order to be successful with this diet.

Reading labels can help you stay away from casein containing food products. The best way to stay on Casein Free Diet is to eat at home rather than going outside to have a meal. Don't buy pre-made meals from the market. Prepackaged goods contain additives which might have gluten or casein.

Prepare your own meals at home as it will give you a greater control on what to add into the meal. Eating in a restaurant will leave you with plenty of guesses on what ingredients are added while preparing the food. There are few restaurants that provide casein and gluten free dishes so you can enjoy your time at any such restaurant.

Casein Free Diet is your rescue path from common diseases like irritable syndrome and autism.

Related Articles

Check Also

Close
Back to top button
Close