Dr Prem Global Healthcare Logo

Celiac disease diet

Celiac disease diet

Celiac is a disease which arouses serious emotional and physical reactions when an individual eats gluten containing foods. Human body is known to have a low tolerance for gluten content. The only known treatment for this disease is the Celiac Disease Diet.

The diet allows an individual to eat favorable foods while ignoring foods containing gluten. The basic methodology of the diet is to identify gluten containing foods and eliminate them from the diet menu. Food items made from barley, wheat and rye contain gluten. Celiac Disease Diet eliminates all the ordinary breads, pastas, cakes and other convenience foods.

The diet is easy to follow as you have wide range of options to eat from. You can create a gluten free menu with maximum variety. Here is the list of foods to choose from when designing your Celiac Disease Diet Plan:

  • Chicken
  • Fish
  • Meat
  • Cheese
  • Milk
  • Butter
  • Cream
  • Eggs
  • Jam
  • Seeds
  • Nuts
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Salads
  • Marmalade
  • Sugar
  • Ice cream
  • Chocolate
  • Rice
  • Maize
  • Potatoes
  • Honey
  • Olive oil
  • Sunflower oil

Some ice cream and chocolate brands contain gluten in their products whereas other brands do not. You must see the label of every readymade product in order to avoid buying gluten containing foods.

Gluten is hidden in most of the processed foods. Snacks, sauces, French fries, cereals, pre-packed meals and mustard are some of the examples of foods containing gluten. You must stay away from cosmetics as some of them contain gluten. Here is a list of foods that contain gluten in huge amount.

  • Mixed vegetable oil
  • Potato chips
  • Sauces
  • Tinned soups
  • Cookies
  • Breakfast cereals
  • Pasta
  • Breads
  • Vinegar
  • Mayonnaise
  • Mustard
  • Pretzels
  • Soy sauce
  • Ice creams
  • Chocolates
  • Candies

Good news is that celiac sufferers can keep on enjoying their favorite drinks. However, beer is an exception in this case. You can choose gluten free beer as it is available in the market. You are allowed to consume most of the carbonated drinks, cocoa, fruit drinks, tea and coffee.

Recent Articles:

Scroll to Top